Physicians committed to patient safety and comfort.

2022 Annual Conference

Speaker Handouts & Electronic Syllabus


Dear Colleagues,

We are excited to invite you to join us for this year’s Minnesota Society of Anesthesiologists 2022 Annual Conference.  Based on member feedback, we have designed this year’s conference agenda to focus on Non-Operating Room Anesthesia (NORA).  It includes many engaging speakers and a variety of learning formats, including lectures, panel discussions, poster sessions, problem-based learning discussions (PBLDs), a hands-on workshop, and a “career paths” panel for residents.  We are happy to host several regional and national guest presenters this year including Dr. Bobbie Jean Sweitzer from INOVA, previous Director of Perioperative Medicine at Northwestern University, Dr. Jim Hebl, Regional VP of Mayo Clinic Health System, Dr. Ken Holmen, President and CEO of CentraCare, and Dr. Ron Harter, ASA First Vice President.  There will also be an incredible quality of local content experts who will be presenting and facilitating this year.

On behalf of the MSA Education Committee and the entire MSA Board of Directors, we invite you to join us and are excited to see you all in November!  To keep effective facilitator-to-participant ratios, our PBLDs and hands-on workshops will have a limited number of participant slots available, so make sure to register early!

J. Kyle Bohman, MD
MSA Education Committee Chair
MSA Annual Conference Chair

Bridget Pulos, MD
MSA Annual Conference Vice Chair

CLICK HERE for Exhibitor Opportunities!

Event Details

Saturday, November 19, 2022 - 7:00am
Sunday, November 20, 2022 - 12:00pm
Radisson Blu Mall of America
2100 Killebrew Dr
Bloomington, Minnesota 55425
United States


Hotel Block
A discounted room rate has been secured at the Radisson Blu Mall of America for the Friday, November 18 and Saturday, November 19 for $159/night. To make your reservation, call 800-333-3333 and book your room under the "MSA 2022 Annual Conference" block or CLICK HERE to book online. Be sure to use promotional code "MSAMET".

Complimentary self-parking is available in the East and West parking ramps. If you are a registered hotel guest and parking overnight in either ramp, you must bring the make and model of your vehicle, as well as your license plate number, to the hotel front desk upon check-in. The hotel team will inform the Mall of America team of your information. Mall of America’s team will tow cars which are parked overnight in either ramp that have not been registered with the hotel as staying at the hotel on that same night.


MSA, WSA (Wisconsin), North Dakota (ND) & South Dakota (SD) Members: $0
Non-Members: $450

No Show Policy

Cancellations received by the office at least five (5) business days prior to the event are eligible for a refund of the registration fee. No refunds will be provided for cancellations received fewer than five (5) business days prior to the event. No-shows will be billed for any unpaid registration fees.

Tentative Schedule of Events

Saturday November 19, 2022

Registration & Continental Breakfast with Exhibitors 

Welcome Remarks

J. Kyle Bohman, MD, Mayo Clinic, Program Chair

Bridget Pulos, MD, Mayo Clinic, Program Vice Chair

NORA- New Tools for the Job?

George Gilkey, MD, Mayo Clinic

Ambulatory Cataract Surgery

Bobbie Jean Sweitzer

Question & Answer Panel

Break with Exhibitors

CIED Management for NORA

Bobbie Jean Sweitzer, MD, INOVA

Disparities in Pulse Oximetry
Nicole Henry
, DO, MPH, Mayo Clinic 

Question & Answer Panel 

Anesthesiologist and Leadership

Jim Hebl, MD, Regional Vice President of Mayo Clinic Health System

Kenneth Holmen, MD, President and CEO of CentraCare

Question & Answer Panel

Break with Exhibitors

MSA Annual Business Meeting

Rebecca Johnson, MD, Mayo Clinic

MSA President

Moderated Best of MARC Session 1

Moderators: Bridget Pulos, MD and Mark Rollins, MD, PhD

  • Rachel Corbitt, MD, Mayo Clinic
  • Alexander Kiel, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic
  • Mariana Laporta, MD, Mayo Clinic

Luncheon & ASA Update

Ron Harter, MD, ASA President-Elect

Moderated Best of MARC Session 2

Moderators: Bridget Pulos, MD and Mark Rollins, MD, PhD

  • Michael Berryman, MD, University of Minnesota
  • Nicholas Rothbard, DO, University of Minnesota
  • Jason Srnec, MD, University of Minnesota

Anesthesia for Interventional Neuroradiology
Tasha Welch, MD, Mayo Clinic

Question & Answer Panel

Legislative Update
Daniel Pollock, JD, Lockridge Grindal Nauen

Problem Based Learning Discussions

  • PBLD 1 – Labor Analgesia Beyond the Epidural: Current Evidence and Considerations
    • Irynal Chugaieva, MD, University of MN
  • PBLD 2Subarachnoid Hemorrhage from Ruptured Cerebral Aneurysm in the IR Suite: What a Headache!
    • Tasha Welch, MD, Mayo Clinic; Sherri Braksick, MD, Mayo Clinic
  • PBLD 3 – Anesthesia Management for Transjugular Intrahepatic Portosystemic Shunt (TIPS) Procedure
    • Alex Anderson, MD, Mayo Clinic
  • PBLD 4 – Perioperative Pacemaker Management: Standard and Leadless Considerations
    • Marissa Kauss, MD, Mayo Clinic 
  • PBLD 5 – Regional Anesthesia in an Ambulatory Setting
    • Josef Pleticha, MD, Mayo Clinic Health System
  • PBLD 6 – Career Paths in Anesthesiology
    • Eleanor Trousdale, MD; Asha Nookala, MD; Tom Laberge, MD; Rachel Douglas, DO; Dan Hottinger, MD

MSA Cocktail Reception

Sunday November 20, 2022

Workshop Registration                                 

Regional Anesthesia and Ultrasound Workshop

  • Ultrasound-Guided Fascial Plane Blocks for Chest Wall and Intrathoracic Surgery
    Josef Pleticha, MD
  • Abdominal Wall Blocks
    James Flaherty, MD
  • Neuraxial Anesthesia Ultrasound
    Roberto Blanco, MD
  • PoCUS for DVT and PoCUS during CPR
    Patrice Vinsard, MD