Physicians committed to patient safety and comfort.

2020 Annual Conference


Our highest priority is the health, safety, and well-being of our MSA members and the communities they serve.

In light of the magnitude of the looming COVID-19 spread and the steady stream of recommendations to limit non-essential travel and group gatherings, after careful deliberation, the Executive Committee of the MSA has decided to reschedule the MSA Annual Conference to September 18-20, 2020. Further communication will be forthcoming regarding registration and details for the rescheduled MSA Annual Conference. We apologize for any inconvenience this decision may cause you. The MSA thanks you for your understanding.

Kyle Bohman, MD and Tae Kim, MD
MSA Annual Meeting Program Chair and Co-Chair

Event Details

Saturday, September 19, 2020 - 7:00am
Radisson Blu Mall of America

2100 Killebrew Dr Bloomington, Minnesota 55425 United States

Registration Deadline
Wednesday, September 16, 2020


Please see below for instructions as to how MSA attendees can book their guestrooms for the MSA Annual Conference from September 18-20, 2020. Attendees can either:

Attendees must make reservations by Wednesday, August 19, 2020. Any reservations after this date are subject to availability and at prevailing room rates.


Saturday September 19, 2020

7:00-7:55am: Registration & Continental Breakfast with Exhibitors

7:55-8:00am: Welcome Remarks
J. Kyle Bohman, MD, Mayo Clinic, Program Chair
Tae Kim, MD, University of Minnesota, Pediatric Program Chair

8:00-8:25am: Anesthesia and the Developing Brain
Chandra Castro, MD, Children's Hospital and Clinics of Minnesota

8:25-8:50am: I'm Conflicted: Mixing Business, Medicine, and Education
David Martin, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic

8:50-9:05am: Question & Answer Panel

9:05-9:35am: Break with Exhibitors

9:35-10:15am: Safe Opioid Prescription Practices
Alaa Abd-Elsayed, MD, MPH, Medical Director UW Pain Clinic, University of Wisconsin-Madison

10:15-10:45am: Opioids: Regulations, Legislation and Education
Halena Gazelka, MD, Mayo Clinic

10:45-11:00am: Question & Answer Panel

11:00-11:30am: Break with Exhibitors

11:30-12:30pm: Luncheon & ASA Update
James Kelly, MD, ASA Board of Directors

12:30-12:50pm Break with Exhibitors

12:50-1:20pm Legislative Update
Nate Mussell, JD, Lockridge Grindal Nauen

1:20-1:50pm Anesthesia and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Brian Tolly, MD, Minneapolis VA Medical Center

1:50-2:20pm Challenges of Patients on Naltrexone or Buprenorphine
Dustin Palm, MD, Minneapolis VA Medical Center

2:20-2:35pm Question & Answer Panel

2:35-3:00pm Moderated Poster Session
Moderators: J. Kyle Bohman, MD, Mayo Clinic and Ioanna Apostolidou, MD, University of Minnesota

3:00-5:00pm: Problem Based Learning Discussions

Peds Unanticipated Difficult Airway
Martina Richtsfeld, MD, University of Minnesota
Devon Aganga, MD, Mayo Clinic

Kumar Belani, MD, University of Minnesota
Vinh Nguyen, DO, University of Minnesota

Anesthesia for Neonatal Surgical Emergencies
Anna Swenson, MD, University of Minnesota
Dawit Haile, MD, Mayo Clinic

Non-Cardiac Surgery Anesthesia for Adult Congenital Heart Disease Patients
Lisa Corbett, MD, University of Minnesota
John Jochman, MD, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota

6:00 Minnesota United Game
Allianz Field, St. Paul (no transportation provided)

Sunday September 20, 2020

7:00-8:00am Continental Breakfast

8:05-8:30am Neurologic Devices for Non-Neurological Surgery
Tasha Welch, MD, Mayo Clinic

8:30-9:05am Neuroanesthesia – Year in Review
Jeff Pasternak, MD, Mayo Clinic

9:05-9:20am Question & Answer Panel

9:20-9:50am Ultrasound Primer
Gregory Schears, MD, Mayo Clinic

9:50-12:20pm Regional Anesthesia and Ultrasound Workshop

Paravertebral and ESB
Dawit Haile, MD, Mayo Clinic

Infraclavicular Block
Katie Handlogten, MD, Mayo Clinic

Knee Surgery Blocks
David Gruner, MD, University of Minnesota

Transversus Abdominis Plane Block
Tae Kim, MD, University of Minnesota
Roberto Blanco, MD, University of Minnesota

Ultrasound Peripheral IV Access
Gregory Schears, MD, Mayo Clinic
Mike Nemergut, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic

12:20-12:30pm Door Prize and Closing Remarks